Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal  (ANI)

Aam Aadmi Party announces first list of 10 candidates

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Friday released the first list of ten candidates for the upcoming Punjab assembly elections. 

All of the candidates are sitting MLAs.

Senior AAP leader Harpal Singh Cheema, who is the Leader of Opposition in the Punjab Assembly, has been given a ticket from the Dirba seat, while Aman Arora will contest from the Sunam assembly constituency.

Saravjit Kaur Manuke will contest from Jagraon seat and Baljinder Kaur from Talwandi Sabo.

Jai Kishan Roudi has been given a ticket from the Garhshankar seat, Manjit Bilaspur from Nihal Singh Wala, Kultar Singh Sandhwan from Kotkapura, Budhram from Budhlada, Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer from Barnala, and Kulwant Pandori from Mehal Kalan, according to the list.

View Full Image

AAP candidates list 

Earlier in June, party supremo and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal had announced that AAP’s chief ministerial candidate for Punjab will be from the Sikh community.

Further, he promised 300 units of free electricity per month for each household in Punjab if AAP comes to power. He asserted that 24/7 power in Punjab will be provided and pending electricity bills will be waived off if his party is voted to power.

“We will do three major works here. First, we will provide 300 units of free electricity to every family. Secondly, all pending domestic electricity bills will be waived off and the connection of people will be restored. Third, 24 hours electricity will be provided,” said Kejriwal. 

In 2017 Assembly polls, Congress won an absolute majority in the state by winning 77 seats and ousted the SAD-BJP government after 10 years. Aam Aadmi Party emerged as the second-largest party winning 20 seats in 117-member Punjab Legislative Assembly. The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) could only manage to win 15 seats while the BJP secured three seats.

The election to the Punjab assembly is due early next year. The poll schedule is yet to be announced by the Election Commission.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint.
our App Now!!


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.